top of page

What's Your #? An Intro To The Enneagram

Updated: Jan 9, 2020

You might know about the Enneagram and its classification of the 9 personality types. Maybe you've taken an online test and felt personally attacked by its accurateness, or on the other end of the spectrum, thought, "hell no, that's not me." Maybe you've taken different tests several times and found your number changes.

The only one who can truly determine your Enneagram type is yourself—whether you take a test or trust an expert to guide you to the right depiction. That being said, there's SO much more than just the 9 personality facets. It's kind of like how horoscopes aren't one-size-fits-all—much like rising signs and moon signs, there are wings, subtypes, and health to consider when determining your Enneagram number.

But for starters, it's good to get a basic overview of the types then start to understand the basic desires, fears, and motivations that are applicable to yourself. Remember, just like any other self-discovery tool, it's not to be taken literally or put you in a box. The point of understanding your Enneagram type is to help you better understand yourself so you can live freely and authentically.

Here's my breakdown of the 9 types, and I'll be rolling out more Enneagram resources and content in the future!

1. The Reformer: rational, moral, and a perfectionist, with a basic desire to do the right thing

2. The Helper: caring, social, people-pleasing, with a basic desire to feel loved and needed

3. The Achiever: driven, success-oriented, image-conscious with a basic desire to be admired

4. The Individualist: sensitive, withdrawn, expressive, moody, with a basic desire to understand oneself

5. The Investigator: intense, perceptive, innovative, and secretive, with a basic desire to understand the world

6. The Loyalist: responsible, suspicious, engaging, loyal, and practical with a basic desire to feel secure

7. The Enthusiast: fun-loving, busy, spontaneous, versatile, high-energy, with a basic desire to be happy

8. The Challenger: self-confident, decisive, willful, protective, leader-type, with a basic desire to be in control of their lives

9. The Peacemaker: easygoing, agreeable, complacent, adaptable, with a basic desire for internal peace

Have you signed up for my newsletter yet? Sign up below and get my free (and extremely fun) New Year's goal setting worksheet!

929 views1 comment

1 Comment

Tímea Sebestyén
Tímea Sebestyén
Mar 13, 2022

Enneagram type 6 is missing. There're two type 4 in the list. :)

bottom of page